Time to Enter the New Future-Proof Intertraffic Awards

Previous winners for the Intertraffic Amsterdam Awards

Intertraffic's new awards format has launched, with altered classifications, an opportunity for non-exhibiting organizations to join the competition, and an entry deadline of February 20th, 2020. The Intertraffic Awards winners will be revealed during the opening ceremony of Intertraffic Amsterdam, the leading global event for the traffic technology and mobility sector. The 25th edition of Intertraffic Amsterdam will be staged from 21-24 April 2020 at RAI Amsterdam, with an anticipated 900 exhibitors and 35,000 industry professionals in attendance.

Joyce de Winter, Exhibition Manager of Intertraffic Amsterdam, explains the change in format. "The transition of the traffic technology and mobility industry towards a sustainable and digital world is ongoing. The Intertraffic Awards were first introduced in 2002 to reward innovation, subdivided in a number of product-based categories. To reflect the current industry dynamics where collaboration, partnerships and a purpose-driven approach are instrumental to be future proof, we have altered the classifications of the Intertraffic Awards. They are now thematic rather than product segmented."

Another tweak is that the Awards competition is lowering its threshold by opening the doors to a broader range of contenders. De Winter adds “Innovation doesn’t stop at the show floor, so we are happy to welcome entries from non-exhibiting, market-related, organizations.” Participation is free of charge for exhibitors of Intertraffic Amsterdam 2020. Other applicants pay a participation fee of €100.00 (excluding VAT) per entry. This fee is non-refundable and will be donated to Intertraffic’s designated charity, Flying Doctors.

New Categories for Intertraffic Awards

Intertraffic Green Globe Award

This award recognizes solutions, products and working practices that are helping to create a sustainable transport system for the future. The winner will be making a positive contribution to reducing carbon emissions or cutting pollution, or perhaps will even have created a product or practice that enables a higher level of recycling or reuse than ever before. With transport producing around 25% of the world’s manmade carbon emissions, there is an urgent need for all stakeholders in the industry to focus on environmental concerns. This award will recognize the leaders in this field.

Intertraffic User Experience Award

Creating hardware and software that is easy to use, easy to understand and easy to install is a challenge for technology developers across all industries. In transport, where speed and accuracy are not simply important but can also help to enhance safety, this need is perhaps more urgent anywhere else. This award will showcase the transport systems that break new ground in the way they seamlessly interface with their human operators. The winner might be the developer of an advanced piece of traffic or city management software, a consumer-facing app, or an easy-to-install camera. Whatever the winning solution, it will enhance the user experience, thereby bringing added value and helping to deliver a more streamlined and efficient transport system.

Intertraffic Inspiration Award

Smarter communities rely on safe, durable, easy-to-maintain transport infrastructure assets and management tools as a foundation. This award recognizes companies that have developed essential solutions while pushing innovation to the next level. Whether it be through enhanced performance, improved safety or greater efficiency, these new solutions are enabling government authorities and system integrators to set the standard for future mobility, while also empowering cooperation with an ever-growing network of stakeholders.

All entries will be evaluated by an independent jury of international specialists. Per category, a maximum of three products/services will be nominated. One nominee will be elected winner in each category. Entries will be judged amongst others by originality, proven technology, proven efficiency, value and practicality (technical, economical, feasibility).

Entries should submitted to the Intertraffic organizers at the latest by Thursday 20 February 2020. More information and terms & conditions are available on the Intertraffic website.

Entrants should read through the Conditions of Participation, which give a precise description of the regulations for the Intertraffic Awards 2020. Exhibitors can submit their entries through the online portal. Non-exhibitors can enter the awards here. A short video presentation, a press announcement, a high-resolution photo and motivation in English are required.

About Intertraffic Amsterdam

Intertraffic LogoIntertraffic Amsterdam is the platform of choice for professionals from around the world to meet. It is a biennial must-attend event to stay up to speed on the developments in the fields of infrastructure, safety, parking, smart mobility, and traffic management, with some 800 exhibiting companies from 47 countries and a 30,000+ visitor attendance from 134 countries worldwide.


There are no comments yet for this item

Join the discussion

You can only add a comment when you are logged in. Click here to login